Patience: Waiting on God

Image Detail

Waiting…. Is there anything more irritating? Waiting in line… Waiting for a traffic light to change to green, so we can hurry up and get on our way… Waiting for someone to finish talking so we can add in our own two cents. ..Waiting…It takes patience. Something that I do have…but could use more of. Usually, if I know I am going to be doing some waiting, I will bring something to fill the time; a book to read, a notebook to jot down ideas into, etc. However, sometimes there is nothing to do but…..wait. Such as when I am waiting on God.

 I tend to think that I know what’s best; I know what God’s plans are for me. When, in reality, I cannot possibly know His plans for me; only that they are good. Sometimes I try to rush God; try to hurry Him through the plans He has for me now, in order to get to what I feel is on the other side. But what I must remember, is that there is a REASON for the waiting. I don’t know what it is; I don’t know WHY I am going through the “tests and trials” that I am going through right now. I don’t know WHY I am having to wait…but maybe….just maybe…God is trying to teach me patience. To lean solely on Him. To trust solely in Him.

In John 11:1-43, we are relayed the story of Lazarus, the brother of Mary and Martha. They lived in Bethany, and Jesus loved them dearly. Jesus stayed with them whenever He came through Bethany. I imagine Mary, Martha, and Lazarus were like family to Jesus. However, when Jesus and His disciples received word that Lazarus was sick, Jesus stayed where He was for 2 more days before beginning the journey to where Lazarus lived. Christ knew Lazarus would be dead when they got there. He told His disciples in verse 14: “Lazarus is dead, and for your sake I am glad I was not there, so that you may believe…” When Christ and the disciples arrived, Martha met them, and told Jesus of her brother’s death. She also told Him,”Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” She had faith, however, that no matter what Jesus said, it would be done. Did she think Jesus would raise her brother from the dead? I don’t know; perhaps. But she had faith in Christ, no matter what. Mary, when she found out Jesus had come, ran out to meet him, and also said, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” It was then that He asked to be taken where Lazarus was. Lazarus was already entombed. His body had already been prepared for burial, wrapped, and placed in a cave, with a stone in place at the entrance (sound familiar?) However, this did not deter Christ; He knew that at the sound of His voice, Lazarus would live again. Christ had purposely delayed His trip to Bethany so that the people could see the power He (Christ) possessed; power to raise the dead. What would have happened if Martha or Mary could have hurried Jesus up? We would not have this stirring image of Jesus love, or the display of power over death and the grave, the He has. I need to remember that, no matter what I am going through, God’s love for me drives His will for me. And that, no matter what, His time is perfect time. If I try to “hurry it up” it only messes things up. There are lessons to be learned on this side of the miracle, that I may not understand until I get to the other side of it.

“Lord, please forgive me when I try to take Your will into my hands. When I try to hurry you up. Please remind me that, there are reasons you are having me wait; even though I may not know what they are, I know there is something you want me to learn. Maybe even patience…”

http://youtu.be/eLn0cRl-0GE

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

