Love is…

 
LOVE IS….
 
What do you think of when you hear those 2 words?  Years ago there were cute little cartoons that each started with “Love is…”  Here are a few:  Love is…cleaning up after him, again!  Love is…when he still wants to look his best for you.  Love is…trying hard not to kiss him when he’s driving.  Love is…living for the present but not taking it for granted.  These are all nice…and true.  There are a lot of feelings, images, and ideas wrapped up in that tiny little word.  Love-one small word, but such a big thing!  What does it mean to you?  According to the Bible, in I Corinthians 13, verses 1-13.  Verse 1 tells us that, (paraphrased) that we can say beautiful things in beautiful ways, but if we don’t have love, it’s like a “resounding gong, or clanging cymbal”.  That we can have all sorts of gifts of prophesy and know all sorts of mysteries, and have all of the knowledge of life, but if we don’t have love, we are nothing.  We can have faith that moves mountains and do all sorts of good deeds, but if we do it without love, it is worth nothing.  I guess it’s like when our spouse or our children do something we ask of them, but we know they are doing it very begrudgingly-without love-then the act looses its meaning.
 
My favorite part of this chapter is verse 4 through the first part of verse 8, then on to verse 13.  “Love is patient, love is kind, it does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no records of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails.  And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.  But the greatest of these is love.”
 
WOW!  Well, I feel  that I could use more patience, but there are others that tell me that I have lots of it!  I am told I am kind (usually…although, I can have my moments when I am not!)  I don’t usually envy people.  I am not boastful, or proud.  I am usually not rude, or self-seeking, or easily angered.  Keeping records of wrongs?  Uh-oh…Houston, we have a problem!  Ask my husband…who, after 25 years of marriage, still tells the story of when I got mad at him for throwing out a tube of medicine. (Ok, so, I guess I made an impression!)  Yes, to this day, I can still tell you WHERE I found it, WHAT kind of medicine it was, and WHAT it was used for!  So, yes, I keep a record of wrongs…and yes, it’s something I very much need to work on!  As well as many more things in this scripture!  But I know that, the three things together; faith, hope, and love, will be what I need to become the person God wants me to be.  Oh, and lots of work, too!
 
LOVE- the greatest love- is the love God showed us when He sent Jesus to be the Sacrificial Lamb in atonement for our sins.  It’s the love Jesus had for the Father, as he prayed “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me.  Yet not as I will, but as you will”.  The love Christ had for us, as he hung on the cross, suspended between Heaven and Earth-between life and death.  Feeling complete isolation from the Father, He still loved enough to carry out His mission, no matter how painful, humiliating, and lonely.   Christ was the perfect example of Love.  Read I Corinthians 13 again-all of these qualities are God!  I must remember to strive daily to show those qualities to others.  To “Love my neighbor”.
 
Dear Lord, Please remind me to show true love to others-patience, kindness, humbleness, generosity, slow to anger and…NOT a keeper of wrongs…Help me to be the woman you created me to be.  Thank you, God, for the greatest gift of Love that you gave.  Amen.
Posted on July 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

