Reminds Me Of Dry Bones

Proverbs 17:22 – “A cheerful heart is good medicine but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.”

Lord I pray to you and lift you up!

My spirit was crushed this morning. Not too bad and not for very long but crushed nonetheless. A few careless words were tossed my way and my spirit, my heart, and my feelings were hurt.

Funny how your spirit is crushed and how it dries up the bones when at the same moment the eyes become moist with tears.

Those hurtful words affect not only us but those around us.  It affects the one who crushed our spirit to begin with.

You have taught me Lord that a cheerful heart is like good medicine. It not only does us good but also those around us.

It’s sometimes difficult to remember how our actions and words affect others both positively and negatively.

It reminds me of a song my mother used to sing to me, “Oh be careful little tongue, what you say…”.

It also reminds me of God’s word in James 3, chapters 7 and 8 that says, “All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind. But no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil full of deadly poison. You’ve shown me how words can hurt, or heal.”

Thank you Lord for reminding me today to always be careful of what I say and do.

“Guide my feet into the direction you would have them go and may the words that come out of my mouth be pleasing to you so I may be good medicine to others.

Amen.”

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love it and needed that today!!
    I’m really glad you have started this blog and look forward to the entries to come.
    Love you!!

  2. Hey Babe, I have been reading your post, they are great. If I was the one that hurt your feeling yesterday, I am sorry and of course I don’t remember what I did if it was me. I love you with all my heart and look forward to spending the next 25 years together.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

